The Selection Process

Picking The Right Person 

I recently saw a special on television about couples who have been happily married for decades. They asked each one how they did it. The answers were what you would expect–communication, commitment, understanding, love, and trust. However, several couples also said the key to a long and happy life with another lies in the selection process.

My wife and I celebrated out 22nd wedding anniversary this month. When I first met her I just knew she was the one–and I was right. The reason I share this is I was engaged the year before I met my wife and quickly realized this other person was not the one. Oh how different my life would be if I had married someone else–and not in a good way.

So how does this apply to you? Could it be that Nordstrom, Southwest, and The Ritz Carlton are on to something when they say the secret to good customer service is in selecting the right employees rather than trying to train someone to be caring, considerate, and conscientious?

Choosing who are clients are is also important. We want people who love what we do, pay on time, and treat us with respect. Choosing who to partner with in business can be like a marriage, and a bad coupling can cause a lot of problems. We can’t always pick our boss, but when we can (they interviewed us or have been there for years) we should be selective.

It’s time we take the time to make sure we carefully choose who we want to partner with and who we don’t because people can change, but usually don’t.

The Selection Process

Leave a Reply

