Sherlock Holmes

The Power of Observation 
Have you noticed I almost never attach anything to these blog entries? Ha, that was kind of a trick question. It’s true, I don’t like to add attachments, but I made an exception in this issue to include a sheet I created using lessons learned from Sherlock Holmes. The power of observation (and deduction) was something that made Holmes special, but it’s also a skill anyone can develop and use for personal and professional gain.
 
I’ll give you one example about how not being observant can cost a client. I’m either loyal or lazy, but I prefer to stay with the same service providers forever. I had been seeing the same dentist for over 20 years . . . until last year. When I was in his office laying in the chair for a cleaning I started noticing the ceiling panels were damaged, lights were out, and the equipment was dirty and often didn’t work. I figured if he didn’t take care of his office, he and his staff probably failed to take care of me properly as well. (I know what you’re thinking, no “sheet” Sherlock.) So I left and found a new dentist who pays attention to detail.
 
The attached sheet on Sherlock Holmes has a lot of great ideas to improve your ability to see things others miss. How you use this information could mean the difference between good and great. Take a quick peek at the attachment or request a larger PDF version at leesilber@leesilber.com. 
Sherlock Sheet 07-47-01

 

Sherlock Holmes

Leave a Reply

