Maya Angelou

How To Make a Difference 
Maya Angelou passed away on May 28th of this year, her words will live on forever. My favorite quote from the renowned author is this one, “People will forget what you said, people will forget what you did, but people will never forget how you made them feel.” Say what you will about social media, but it can be an extraordinary tool to make others feel special–and it takes so little effort to “like” a post from someone else or create a post that makes a person feel special. 
 
I play a lot of softball (at certain points in the year I am playing five days a week) and although I am not the superstar on any of the teams, I do the small things that help us win. If you watch Sportscenter they highlight the big hits. However, in baseball there is the “game within the game” which includes a lot of little plays (and players) that go unnoticed, but their sacrifice bunt or hustle make a big difference. That’s my game, I am hitting over .800 but have no home runs. My goal is to get on base and have others drive me in. It was such a nice thing when my manager sent me a text after a game noticing and acknowledging my contributions. I’ll never forget how that made me feel.  

 

Maya Angelou

Leave a Reply

