It’s a Rocky Road

“It’s not about hard you can hit, it’s about how hard you can get hit and keep going.” ~Rocky Balboa
 
Did this year go exactly as planned? Did you get everything you wanted or needed? Was 2013 a complete and total success? Chances are this year didn’t go exactly as planned for you. Which is okay. I know for me, I had a couple of (unexpected) setbacks that kept me from reaching a couple of goals . . . or is that just an excuse? The temptation is to blame outside forces for what happened to me in 2013. That would make me a victim of chance and circumstances beyond my control–which is true, but not something to dwell on.
 
Instead, I am not going to blame anyone (other than myself) or anything for what didn’t go right. It would be more productive to look at what I learned, how I can improve, and what I will do differently in the coming year to be better. I know I didn’t do everything I could to gain more publicity for my books and business. I also didn’t finish any of the three books I am working on (but I still have time to rectify that). Plus, I did not send out as many proposals for presentations as I did two years ago. I blame myself. I take responsibility for my actions and inaction. That (to me, anyway) is empowering. 
 
To my credit, when I was hurt and unable to workout or play sports, I cut my calorie intake and lost 15 pounds. I also used this time to work on projects that were once pushed aside to go surfing and play softball. In a way, being injured was a blessing in disguise. (I’m not saying I want to go through that again, but instead of whining, I wanted to work on winning with only one arm.) Don’t make excuses, do the best you can with what you have and don’t blame outside forces for failures. 
 
As Rocky says at the end of his famous speech, “Now if you know what you’re worth, then go out and get what you’re worth! But you gotta be willing to take the hits. And not pointing fingers saying you ain’t where you wanna be because of him, or her, or anybody! Cowards do that and that ain’t you! You’re better than that.”

VIDEO CLIP FROM ROCKY’S SPEECH TO HIS SON http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fyf6zsxsX8I

It’s a Rocky Road

Leave a Reply

