Half Birthdays

It took me forty years to figure out July 4th is my half birthday. I know, I’m not that sharp. It also made me realize the first week in July is one of the key weeks of the year. We officially reached the halfway mark of 2012 on the first day of July. It’s a good time to take a look at what’s worked and what hasn’t. I would never ask anyone to do something I wasn’t willing to do first. So here is my half year in review.
After two straight years of losing weight I have gained ten pounds in the first half of 2012. Granted, when you lose 70 pounds gaining ten back isn’t bad, but … Another area where I know I can do better is using social media for marketing. It’s a fine line between self-promotion and self-serving and I have probably been too cautious about not crossing over. On the plus side, my kids are thriving, my wife and I will celebrate our 18th wedding anniversary on Kauai, I’ve had a banner year in business, I’ve released two books so far, and my string of presentations with an outstanding rating (or better) is intact.
They say New Year’s Day is a chance to start over. I say we make the half-year mark a time to start fresh (and build on our success) so we can put behind us what didn’t work and work on making the rest of the year the best it can be. Maybe we could (and should) make half-year resolutions. Let me know what yours are. Two of mine include finishing writing two books that are in the works, adding more sports to my weekly exercise regime (tennis, surfing, and baseball) to go along with my time in the gym, and to say “no” to the things that pull me from my priorities.
TO SEND ME YOUR HALF-YEAR RESOLUTIONS CLICK HERE leesilber@leesilber.com
TO SEE A SAMPLE “VISION STATEMENT” CLICK HERE http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xfNYFVCobJQ
Half Birthdays

Leave a Reply

