Creative is as Creative Does

Visionary and super successful science fiction author Ray Bradbury died recently at the age of 91. One of the things that always stuck with me was his advice to do something creative every day. Bradbury liked to recount the story of meeting a carnival magician, Mr. Electrico, in 1932. At the end of his performance, Electrico reached out to the twelve-year-old Bradbury, touched the boy with his sword and commanded, “Live forever!” Bradbury later said, “I decided that was the greatest idea I had ever heard. I started writing every day. I never stopped.

“In my later years I have looked in the mirror each day and found a happy person staring back. Occasionally I wonder why I can be so happy. The answer is that every day of my life I’ve worked only for myself and for the joy that comes from writing and creating. The image in my mirror is not optimistic, but the result of optimal behavior.”

Here are three simple things you can do to include creativity into your daily routine.

1. Come up with clever subject lines for your e-mails. Draw your things-to-do list. Post to your Facebook, Twitter, Blog, or Pinterest pages.

2. Pick something that is bugging you and play the “What if?” game by thinking up all kinds of crazy ideas to make things better.

3. Become more like Sherlock Holmes or Patrick Jane (“The Mentalist”). Pay attention to details normal people would miss and make up a story.

RAY BRADBURY http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ray_Bradbury

Creative is as Creative Does

Leave a Reply

