Queen Of The World

PEOPLE DON’T CARE . . .
The entire headline is: “People don’t care . . . how much you know until they know how much you care about them.” It’s a quote by Zig Ziglar that I not only memorized, but live by. I use it in every one of my speeches because it applies to everything and everybody. But I have to ask myself, how can I show I care more than I do?

I recently met a man backstage who asked me to sign a copy of my book, “Rock To Riches”. He asked if Brain May (the guitarist and co-founder of Queen) was included in the book. I assured him he was. He said “good”, because of all the rock stars that stayed at the famous Waldorf Astoria Hotel where he worked, May was the only one to make an indelible (and positive) impression on him. This is his story (In his own words.)

“When Brain May first stayed at the Waldorf I found him to be the most genuine person I had ever met–forget that he was a rock star of mega proportions. A couple of years passed between his stays but when he returned he rushed over to me and called me by my name, asked about my wife (also by name), and recalled details from our last conversation. I was blown away. I wasn’t really a Queen fan, but I am now. I also became better at remembering things about my guests. That’s what a positive impact Brain May had on me and I want to do the same for others.”

So what happened here? In a nutshell, Brain May made this person feel important. He made him feel good. He set an example to follow. My goal is (and has always been) to make people feel better, be better, and create a better life. I get just as much from seeing someone else succeed as I do when I succeed myself. That’s why I want to use my gift (inspiring people from the stage) more often.

If you know of a non-profit group that needs speaker, I want to use my time and “talent” to help them by presenting a program for their people. If you know of such an organization, please let me know. It doesn’t matter how small, if they need someone to help them get where they want to go, I want to help them get there faster.

CONTACT ME IF YOU KNOW A NON-PROFIT THAT COULD BENEFIT FROM A PRESENTATION: leesilber@leesilber.com

Queen Of The World

Leave a Reply

