Do Deadlines Do The Trick?

For creative people deadlines are both a blessing and a curse.

The blessing part is the fact/truth we won’t do anything without a due date. We need the pressure a deadline creates to create. It forces us to finish. It also forces us to prioritize–not something that comes naturally for a right brainer.

The curse of deadlines is they encourage us into creative compromises. Much like a limited budget limits the options of what’s possible, a time crunch makes us cut corners and have to give up great for good enough. This isn’t always bad, but it does make for a lot of all-nighters and in the end we simply run out of time–but not out of ideas.

I noticed this with my new website. I wanted it to be perfect. I wanted it to be a state-of-the-art site, but in the end a limited amount of time and money made me rethink some of the grandiose concepts and scale them back to meet my (self-imposed) deadline. In the end, I am happy with how it turned out, but I also know it could have been better, but . . . without a deadline I would fiddling with it until February . . . of 2012.

Here’s what I have (so far) http://www.leesilber.com

"The Ultimate Motivator."
Do Deadlines Do The Trick?

Leave a Reply

